Kartikay's Blog

Productivity

The fundamental selling point of all productivity advice is getting more done in less time. It's a good hook. I have over the years consumed a lot of content around productivity. It took me a long time to realise I was making a fundamental mistake.

I assumed I would stumble upon some specific protocol that I can follow perfectly and my life is set. So I have tried it all. All kinds of wake-sleep times. Journaling. All kinds of productivity apps and timing techniques. Trying to get as much damn sunlight in my little eye holes within x minutes of waking up(yes, I had a Huberman era). Nothing worked.

The fundamental mistake in all of this is I thought of my mind as some unmotivated child that I could be strict with and discipline into getting stuff done. But if you have ever taught young children( I have) you will know that discipline and fear only get you so far. Getting them interested in the topic changes the game.

This realisation drastically changed my life. I can get my mind interested in doing things through self-programming. Everyone is different on how to do this. Many of these routines and techniques that we hear about are just outcomes of effective self-programming unique to that individual. Each of us needs to find our unique way.

How to program your mind? You can introspect and the documentation of your mind will reveal itself to you. Also, there are some ways you can make the mind more malleable to programming. I have given a framework I follow for this in my 'Hacking Hardwork' post.

There is no golden technique that will save you. Only you can save yourself.