Kartikay's Blog

Hacking Hard-work

I have always been lazy and ambitious. My life mostly has been a weird experiment in combining the two. Being ambitious means I want to achieve a lot, something that required hard work. Being lazy means, well I would rather not work hard.

And no this is not some post about smart work. I never understood smart work anyways. It assumes people are dumb and don't know how to approach problems from high leverage points. I am not sure if any of these people even exist when you are competing at a high level.

Competing at a high level means you are up against smart crazy human beings willing to burn everything including themselves. You have to grind hard to have a shot. So I had to solve my hard work issue.

I soon realised that my issue was not hard work. It was work that 'felt' like hard work. I can just program the wet squishy computer between my skull to change the 'feeling' settings. So hard work feels like a breeze. Even extremely enjoyable.

How can this programming be done? Well the key insight is you can bore yourself to a point that anything is enjoyable. Also you can gaslight yourself into making any mundane task feel grand. So what looks like mundane paperwork to someone on the outside could feel like the holy act of putting ink on paper and rewriting history to you. You get my point right?

Everyone has a different brain and how you programme this squishy thing will be personal to you. Just spend time with yourself. Introspect to read the documentation.

Be the cracked self programmer you need to be!